Older figures....

Deslock

Enlisted
Mar 16, 2014
Tennessee
www.darksidealliance.com
So for my up and coming DSA Toy Theater projects that I've been working on for the last damned three years, I finally finished the scripts, most of the sets and vehicles, and decided to break out my older Joes and Cobras. And I was dismayed to find so many of the figures O-Rings had dried out. Not an expensive fix, but replacing the o rings on three big shoes boxes at almost one sitting, my fingers felt like they should've been bleeding.

Just a few had broken thumbs, but finding my helmeted Cobra Commanders crotch had broken off, and I can't find the damn missing piece. So I guess I'll have to hunt that down. Zarana on the other hand is going top be a bitter pill. They glued her together, so I'm probably going to have to hot knife her, and I really don't want to do that. Anyone here have any luck with the boil and pop method ?.

All of my vehicle fared pretty well, with the exceptions of some of the red parts on my Cobra Stun...the flags, the little rear gun, and one of the tabs on the side boxes. The gun off my Trouble Bubble broke off somewhere, and the rotors and landing gear on my Fang copter.

But worst of all was my poor Serpentors Air Chariot. I picked it up out of the box, and it LITERALLY disintegrated into pieces in my hands. No pressure mind you, just picking it up made it crumble into pieces. I've been pretty lucky slowly gluing it back together and reinforcing the back of the pieces with thick/thin layers of epoxy..but I'm going to have to lightly sand it, and repaint it with a matching gold paint.

I knew that dealing with such older figures would be some work, but thank God for Retroblasting and Toy Polloi on youtube. The shows there I watched on Retrobrighting my Cobra figs and Stormtroopers and such was a God send.