M-113 Preview

Apache26

Enlisted
Feb 3, 2013
I'm relatively new to 1:18 and I'm working on some ambitious Vietnam projects. Here is a WIP preview of my M-113. I look forward to posting more.

Last edited:

Tapper

suck it up cupcake!!!!
May 19, 2012
Is that out of the box new, or what you have done so far?

K-Tiger

All solutions are final.
Founder
Mar 14, 2011
Did I see this posted on SSHQ?

2/8th Infantry, correct?

Apache26

Enlisted
Feb 3, 2013
Yes, I posted it on SSHQ.

It's one of the venerable 21st Century M-113's. I removed the crappy molded stowage, the smoke grenade launchers, the A3 exhaust port and the A3 external fuel tanks. I moved one of the fuel tank gas caps to the correct early position and molded an exhaust pipe. I removed the tail lights from the fuel tanks to make a set of not entirely correct tail lights (but better than nothing, I reasoned). I also molded the rear mud guards out of Miliput and sanded them down. I didn't trust my Dremel skills enough to cut out the rectangular hole in each.

Since the skirts are metal and a part of the chassis, I chose not to remove them. I know that Vietnam era tracks almost always removed the skirts, but I've seen a few that retained them (at least at the point of the photo). I don't have the tools or expertise to strip the metal.

The OD is the correct dark OD semi-gloss 24087 for Vietnam era vehicles and I painted the interior the correct seafoam green. I don't have huge plans for the interior. I don't have decals to copy for the stowage and engine compartment, and the diecast 21st M-113's have two supporting bars in the interior that I didn't want to remove. I'm only planning on displaying the track in operation, so the interior will only be detailed enough to be look correct once I have troops in it.

The decals were custom made from a set of 1/35 scale decals for 2-8 IN (Mech)/4th Infantry Division in Vietnam. I was in 2-8 IN during OIF I, so I was happy to make the historical connection.