Considering an airbrush.

G.I.*EDDIE

gobbles a LOT of cock
Founder
Mar 14, 2011
S.E. Mich :(
I'm considering an airbrush to use on all facets of customizing...fine lines are a plus, is that even possible?...does quality or brand matter?...are they difficult to master/use?...I noticed hobby lobby and harbor freight have kits...

Basically I have zero knowledge except that they produce great results...sooooo...

Thoughts, tips, advice...:)

K-Tiger

All solutions are final.
Founder
Mar 14, 2011
Like anything else there's gonna be a learning curve. Best get a Harbor Freight special to get a general idea. Buy an expensive one now and you could turn out to be a tier one airbrush operator, or you could find you didn't have a knack for it and just dumped a brick of cash you won't get back when you sell off the rig.

Last edited:

Dropshipbob

Turtlenap, Hanger Alpha
Mar 29, 2011
Yeah, I think the harbor freight versions are good. You'll also have to have an air compressor if you want regular/consistent air pressure. You *can* use a refillable airtank, but you'll end up having to refill it in the middle of something....NOT what you want to do.

Said air compresser can be a noiseless version, which will let you work just about anywhere anytime of the day or night. Without that, you'll be relegated to working outside AND with a set of earplugs in. If you go this route, you won't want to try using it in the winter outside...that won't turn out well at all.

I haven't looked in along time, but I think most basic airbrush kits come with fine line nozzles. If not, they shouldn't be too expensive to pick up on the side.